All About Birks Diamonds

  • THE 4 CS

    First things first. Choose from a variety of engagement ring styles that suit you or your bride-to-be best, ranging from classic solitaires to vintage beauties and colored diamonds. Next, learn the 4Cs: cut, carat, color and clarity. Follow us to the Birks Bridal Bar to learn all about them!

  • cut

    Cut, not to be confused with shape, is what ultimately determines the brilliance of the diamond. The more refined the cut, the more the diamond sparkles. Shape, on the other hand, is the form. Popular shapes include round, cushion, princess, oval, pear and emerald. Learn more about diamond cuts at the Birks Bridal Bar!

  • carat

    Carat is the measure of the diamond’s weight and influences the size of the diamond. Typically, the higher the carat weight, the higher the price range of the diamond. However, size doesn’t always matter. Learn why at the Birks Bridal Bar.

  • clarity

    Clarity is the extent to which a diamond is free from imperfections, also referred to as inclusions. Learn insider tips at the Birks Bridal Bar on how to select a clarity grade that allows you to save on cost, without compromising on the beauty of the diamond!

  • color

    There are 2 types of diamonds: colorless and fancy colored. Colorless diamonds range from D (colorless) to Z (light yellow). Fancy colored diamonds, such as yellow and pink, fall outside the normal color range. Learn more about how color affects the value of your diamond, at the Birks Bridal Bar.